Follow 1outnumberedmom on Twitter

Saturday, October 17, 2009

The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon's series Outlander is an exciting journey over continents and through time. Gabaldon has an amazing ability to describe her settings in a way that make you feel as though you are there. Sometimes I think I can actually smell the scents she describes!

Outlander is about a WWII nurse named Claire Randall who, while visiting Scotland after the war, accidentally tumbles through a circle of standing stones (think Stonehenge) and finds her self in the mid 1700s. Throughout the books Claire finds love with Jamie and also finds herself involved with some very famous historical figures.

Gabaldon is a great story teller and you will be hooked! There are currently seven books in the series:
  1. Outlander
  2. Dragonfly In Amber
  3. Drums of Autumn
  4. Voyager
  5. The Fiery Cross
  6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  7. An Echo in the Bone (just released)

I am so looking forward to the next installment of this series!

You can visit Diana Gabaldon's website at