Follow 1outnumberedmom on Twitter

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Ahh Sookie Sookie

Okay if you haven't jumped on the True Blood bandwagon it is time to take the leap. It is sort of like Twilight for Grown-ups! Charlaine Harris has created an incredible world in which Vampires exist in plain sight. The Sookie Stackhouse series has got it all - romance, adventure, mystery, magic, paranormal, sex, violence, and humor. You may have also heard it called "The Southern Vampire" Series. Harris has spun a web so intricate that you will get sucked in (pun intended) within the first few chapters of the first book. The first book - Dead Until Dark - starts with the public announcement that Vampires really do live among us. And with each new book in the series you are faced with a new and exciting adventure filled with twists and turns that you never see coming. There are power struggles, love affairs, murders, and just general weirdness throughout the books. You will soon find out that in Harris' reality - all those things that go bump in the night really exist too. She include Weres, Witches, Goblins, Telepaths and menagerie of other creatures that are all just living right next do to the rest of us. And all throughout the books are some incredibly delicious love scenes and quite the love triangle (or pentagon at one point!).
And to top it off the series has been turned into a Cable TV Show on HBO called True Blood! It is cleverly done - to not follow the books to the tee but rather used it as a guideline. And the casting department at HBO did a great job of capturing all the main characters (with the exception of Tara who is two very different people from book to screen). If you enjoy the paranormal romance genre you will love the Sookie Stackhouse Books by Charlaine Harris. It is certainly a staple for all of the paranormal fans.
Here are the books in reading order:
  1. Dead Until Dark
  2. Living Dead in Dallas
  3. Club Dead
  4. Dead to the World
  5. Dead as a Doornail
  6. Definitely Dead
  7. All Together Dead
  8. From Dead to Worse
  9. Dead and Gone
  10. Dead in the Family - Due out May 2010
And don't forget A Touch of Dead - a collection of all the Sookie Short Stories that have been in various Anthologies over the years. You can buy the first 8 books in a Boxed Set from Amazon.
You can learn more about Charlaine Harris and her other series' at So which Sookie Book is your favorite? Mine was Dead and Gone, I just can't wait till the next one comes out. And I am happy to report that Harris has confirmed that the Sookie Series is far from done!